“It’s funny how one insect can damage so much grain”

I read the news today, oh boy…”

Has it been 40 years since John Lennon was stolen from us?  He was here for 40 years and today he’s been gone just as long.

I was only four years old in 1980, my paternal grandfather died just four days before John, so I was unaware of the news, but I do remember there being a heavy feeling in the air at the end of that year.  The year felt promising enough as I have a memory of people on my block in Philly going batshit crazy when the Phillies won the World Series (which I’ve just learned was a whole month-and-a-half before this tragedy happened).

Being that John has been gone for so long, there are a few generations who couldn’t have known him other than as a historical figure, and I fear he will fade more into the background (dustbin?) of history as time goes on.  I’ve actually lived long enough to hear at least one person ask, “Who’s John Lennon” as well as, “Who are The Beatles?”  It took every ounce of self-control not to cry on the spot the times I heard those questions.

Despite that fear, I hope John will be remembered for not only his music, but for his genuine activism.  These days, it’s almost expected celebrities to flaunt their politics, but, in John’s day, it was taboo.  John didn’t care, though.  He set the stage for outing celebrities as human beings who had their own set of values.  He was of the opinion that if people didn’t agree with his views and values they were always free to not listen to or buy his music.

But, as a second generation Beatles fan – and the first generation to be a Beatles fan post-breakup, it’s crystal clear The Beatles were political start to finish, and it was for the right reasons.  The Boys had it inserted into their contracts when they performed at concerts in the American South that the audiences were not to be segregated, otherwise, they weren’t playing.  It was a no brainer to them, but that was a brave stance for four, twentysomething British dudes to take in that God-forsaken part of the United States even as recently as the 1960s.

Amongst many other things, John faced endless pushback for his relationship with Yoko Ono, and people to this day blame her for the breakup of The Beatles. 

Let’s clear the record once and for all, shall we? 

The Beatles broke up The Beatles.  Not Yoko Ono, not Linda Eastman.  John, Paul, George, and Ringo broke up The Beatles.  And while I never hated Yoko, I was never her fan, but …

I recently thought about the fact that John loved her, and if she was good enough for John to love, then I could do the same.  When I made that decision, I felt as if I had truly earned my Beatles Freak card.

And however one feels about Yoko, that woman did not deserve to see her husband murdered inches from her face.  That’s a memory she has to live with for the rest of her life.  It’s a private memory that’s so public because her husband was one of the most famous people to have ever walked planet Earth.  And then she has to endure parole hearings for the piece of shit who caused all this hurt every few years.  Life sure does know how to deal the low blows, doesn’t it?

And, quick side note: We Beatles Freaks are well aware of John’s murderer’s name and face, but, when all is said and done, he has no name.  We never say it or write it.  Why give him even more undeserved publicity?  That’s what he was looking for in the first place – and the media have been obliging for 40 years now.  Enough is enough!

Oh, and he decided to make an announcement around the time of what would have been John’s 80th birthday that NOW he’s “sorry” for what he did.  All of a sudden, dude?  Nah, doesn’t work like that.  It does not erase all the hurt he caused Yoko, Cynthia, Julian, Sean, the rest of John’s family, friends, and fans.  As the saying goes: There’s too much water under the bridge. 

Now, whether Yoko chooses to forgive him is her choice and business.  As for me, and many other Beatles Freaks?  Fucking forget it!  John may have been a pacifist, but I’m sure as hell not.  What I wish for that tub of shit I can’t put into words without being charged with something, so I’ll just leave it at that.

I don’t think the nameless one fully comprehends the level of hurt and damage he’s caused over these 40 years.  He’s responsible for generations of hurt and pain, and all due to a singular, evil, selfish act of violence … just so he could be famous.

Elton John and Bernie Taupin put it so succinctly in John’s 1982 tribute song, “Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)”: “It’s funny how one insect can damage so much grain.”  Boy, you really cannot add to perfection!

Elton John – “Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)”

On this black day in history, I choose to remember John not for the lousy way he was stolen from the world, but for his life, his music, and the causes he cared about.  In that way, he will live forever.

Leave a comment